About Us


For more information please get in touch with ARPANSA

  • Phone Number+61 3 9433 2211
  • Fax Number+61 3 9432 1835
  • email ARPANSA

Nuclear Safety Committee

The role of the Nuclear Safety Committee is to advise the CEO and the Council on matters relating to nuclear safety and the safety of controlled facilities, including developing and assessing the effectiveness of standards, codes, practices and procedures.

NSC Links

Membership of the NSC

The members of the committee appointed for the 2015-2017 triennium are:

  • Dr Tamie Weaver (VIC), Technical Director - Hydrogeology, environmental resources management consultancy
  • Dr Carl-Magnus Larsson (Commonwealth)   
Radiation Health Committee representative:
  • Dr Peter Karamoskos (VIC) practising radiologist and nuclear medicine specialist
Local Government representative:
  • Mr Ian Drinnan (NSW) Principal Environmental Scientist, Sutherland Shire Council
Person to represent the interests of the general public:
  • Mr Christopher Tola (NSW) Grants Officer, local government authority
    (Contact the NSC public representative)
Other members:
  • Ms Kerrie Christian (NSW), metallurgist with background in governance, safety and reliability
  • Mr Tony Irwin (NSW), engineer with experience in nuclear power and research reactor operations; commissioning; training and regulatory interaction
  • Dr Rob Lee (ACT), human factors, systems safety and risk management expert with experience of aviation and other high technology industries
  • Mr Robert Lyon (QLD), nuclear safety expert, formerly with AECL & IAEA
  • Mr Don Macnab (NSW), former Director, Regulatory & Policy Branch, ARPANSA
  • Mr Peter Wilkinson (ACT), consultant in safety management and safety culture in hazardous industries


Top of Page