Our Services


For more information please get in touch with ARPANSA

  • Phone Number+61 3 9433 2220
  • Fax Number
  • email ACDS

Clinical Advisory Group

About the Clinical Advisory Group

The Clinical Advisory Group, or CAG, is mandated under the Memorandum of Understanding between the Department of Health and ARPANSA. The group was assembled by the ACDS to provide technical support and advice to the ACDS. The CAG comprises of members from the three professional organisations most relevant to the ACDS – The Australian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine (ACPSEM); The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiology (RANZCR), and the Australian Institute of Radiology (AIR). Membership also includes a representative of the Trans-Tasman Radiation Oncology Group (TROG), a private practice representative, and a senior physicist from the ACDS.

The CAG meets quarterly, usually held via a teleconference, to discuss the on-going developments within the ACDS. In addition, extensive conversations happen out of session, especially when audit designs are being discussed.

Appeal against Audit Outcome

If a facility wishes to appeal an audit outcome, they are encouraged to contact the CAG. The CAG provides independent technical and medical advice to the ACDS. The CAG can be contacted by email at: CAG@arpansa.gov.au.

If a facility is unsatisfied with the CAG response, appeals can be directed to ARPANSA at info@arpansa.gov.au.

Assoc. Professor Roger Allison

Assoc. Professor Roger Allison
Executive Director, Cancer Care Services
Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital

After gaining membership of the Royal College of Physicians in 1972, Roger trained in radiation oncology and oncology at the Royal Infirmary and Western General Hospital in Edinburgh.

He obtained the Fellowship of the Royal College of Radiologists and was appointed a lecturer in radiation oncology at the University of Edinburgh.

In March 1977 Roger moved to Brisbane and was appointed as a radiation oncologist at the then Queensland Radium Institute. The institute was later renamed Cancer Care Services when it became part of the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital (RBWH).

Roger has held the position of Executive Director, Cancer Care Services since 1993. His professional interests include breast cancer, thyroid cancer, paediatric radiation oncology, palliative medicine, soft-tissue sarcomas and urological cancer.

In more than 30 years of service to the RBWH and Queensland Health, Roger has lectured extensively throughout the state and regularly passes his knowledge on to the next generation of radiation oncologists.

Roger has been active in the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists. He was the chief sensor for 10 years and completed a four year term as Dean of Faculty of Radiation Oncology.

Dr Romuald Gajewski
Dr Romuald Gajewski

Romuald Gajewski has more than 30 years experience in radiation oncology medical physics and is author of more than 30 peer-reviewed scientific publications and 10 scientific software programs. Before migrating to Australia he had research interest in the field of nanodosimetry. He also was organising and running a SSDL laboratory. From 1992 Romuald was employed at Westmead Hospital where he was/is involved in a number of clinical and research projects like: introduction and development of TBI, IMRT, IMRS and VMAT to name a few.

He is an active member of the ROCP (Radiation Oncology Certification Panel) and a member of IAEA (International Atomic Energy Agency) experts involved in missions to underdeveloped countries as a medical physics consultant. Romuald is also a senior lecturer at Sydney University where he teaches master students specialising in radiation oncology medical physics.

Annette Haworth
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Melbourne

Annette Haworth

A/Prof Haworth has held a clinical research position at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre for the last 5 years having previously worked at the Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital in Perth, Western Australia. Through her role as the TransTasman Radiation Oncology Group (TROG) physics advisor, Annette has been involved in providing guidelines for the implementation of new technology, advanced treatment techniques and imaging in clinical trials. Annette is currently chairing the IMRT committee of the Commonwealth funded project to assess new technologies for MBS funding. Annette has been involved in many interdepartmental, multidisciplinary and clinical trial QA activities and has recently completed the first national brachytherapy dosimetry audit.

Caroline Muir Knipe
Caroline Muir Knipe Supervisor Radiation Therapist at the W.P.Holman Clinic, Royal Hobart Hospital, Tasmania

Caroline Muir Knipe is a Radiation Therapist with over 30 years experience. She is Vice President and AIR Board member representing Tasmania.

She has a strong interest in quality assurance arose from experience when working [1996] with the Tasmanian DHHS Health Physics services calibrating mobile X-ray units to ensure compliance with regulations under the Radiation Control Act.

Dr Madhavi Goonetilleke
Dr Madhavi Goonetilleke

Madhavi received her MD in radiation oncology in 1997 and has worked as a Radiation Oncologist in India and the Caribbean prior to her present role in Townsville. She is a Fellow of RANZCR and holds an MPH in international Health. She has been involved with the IAEA quality standards teams and is also the current Chair of Quality Improvement Committee for the Radiation Oncology Faculty of RANZCR.

Top of Page